
 

   
  

 

IDAPA 02 – DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
 

02.02.14 - RULES FOR WEIGHTS AND MEASURES 
 

DOCKET NO. 02-0214-1301 
 

 NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF PENDING FEE RULE 
 

 

EFFECTIVE DATE: This rule has been adopted by the agency and is now pending review by the 2014 Idaho State 

Legislature for final approval. The pending rule becomes final and effective at the conclusion of the legislative 

session, unless the rule is approved, rejected, amended or modified by concurrent resolution in accordance with 

Section 67-5224 and 67-5291, Idaho Code. If the pending rule is approved, amended or modified by concurrent 

resolution, the rule becomes final and effective upon adoption of the concurrent resolution or upon the date specified 

in the concurrent resolution. 

 

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5224, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 

adopted a pending rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 71-111, Idaho Code. 

 

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a concise explanatory statement of the reasons for adopting the 

pending rule and a statement of any change between the text of the proposed rule and the text of the pending rule 

with an explanation of the reasons for the change. 

 

Amendments to IDAPA 02.02.14, Section 016.  Remove language that established an annual license fee for devices 

not listed on Table 1-A.  Add language to establish a minimum license fee of $12.00.  Add new types of weighing 

and measuring devices to Table 1-A.  Increase license fees for Device Codes D, E and F to more accurately reflect 

inspection costs.  The proposed change will create new categories for devices emerging in the marketplace, e.g., 

compressed natural gas and fuel additive meters.  The proposed changes to this rule would not take affect till 

February 2015. 

 

The pending rule is being adopted as proposed. The complete text of the proposed rule was published in the 

September 4, 2013, Idaho Administrative Bulletin, Vol. 13-9, page 18. 

 

IDAHO CODE SECTION 22-101A STATEMENT:  This rule does regulate an activity not already regulated by 

the federal government, because the federal government does not regulate device license fees. 

 

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 

general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year: 

 

The fee increase will impact 1597 owners of commercial scales rated over 7500 pounds by $37,790.  The minimum 

license fee of $12 will impact approximately 473 owners of commercial devices by $2838.  As a result, the weights 

and measures dedicated fund could see an increase of $40,628.  The general fund would not be impacted. 

 

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning this pending 

rule, contact Kevin Merritt, Section Manager at (208) 332-8692. 

 

DATED this 4th day of October, 2013. 

 

 

Brian Oakey, Deputy Director 

Idaho State Dept. of Agriculture                                       Boise, Idaho  83701 

2270 Old Penitentiary Road                                              Phone: (208) 332-8500 

P.O. Box 790                                                                      Fax: (208) 334-2170 


