
               Boise                     (208) 332-8613 
               Coeur d’Alene     (208) 666-6779 or 
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               Idaho Falls           (208) 525-7158  
               Blackfoot              (208) 782-0064 
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                                             (208) 442-2816 or 
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                                             (208) 465-8478 or 
                                             (208) 465-8482 
               Pocatello              (208) 236-6091 
               Twin Falls            (208) 736-4759 or 
                                             (208) 736-4790 or 
                                             (208) 736-5277 
                Idaho State Department of Agriculture 

P.O. Box 790 
Boise, ID  83701 

The ISDA may issue a warning letter or regulatory 
letter for first time offenses and minor violations.  
ISDA has civil penalty authority where a maximum of 
$3,000 for each violation may be assessed.  There are 
also criminal misdemeanor penalties up to $1,000 and/
or one year in jail for intentional violations.  The EPA 
also has civil penalty authority and can assess 
penalties up to $5,500 per violation.  

Costs associated with this publication are from Idaho State       
Department of Agriculture in accordance with  Section 60-202, 
Idaho Code. 5/02/32103/500.  (208) 332-8610. 

IDAHO 
PESTICIDE 

DEALER  
RESPONSIBILIES 

Who regulates the distribution of Pesticides 
in Idaho? 

The Idaho State Department of Agriculture (ISDA), 
Division of Agricultural Resources, regulates the 
registration, sale, distribution, use, storage and 
disposal of pesticides under the authority of state laws 
and rules governing pesticides. The Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA) has delegated ISDA 
primacy in areas relating to pesticide use and 
distribution.   

Idaho State
Department of
Agriculture

This brochure explains the primary responsibilities for  
pesticide dealers licensed in the State of Idaho and how 
they can be in compliance with the Idaho Pesticides and 
Chemigation law and associated Rules.  

What are the penalties for violations 
found during the inspection? 

What gives an ISDA investigator the 
authority to inspect my facility? 

The Idaho Pesticides and Chemigation Law, Section 
22-3414, Idaho Code, provides that the Director’s 
designated agent (ISDA investigator) may enter any 
public or private premise at reasonable times for the 
purpose of : 
• Observing the use and application of pesticides; 
• Inspecting records that are required to be 

maintained by the law; 
• Inspecting equipment, storage facilities, and 

disposal areas; 
• Investigating complaints of injury regarding 

human health, plant injury or environmental 
damage; 

• Collecting samples of land or pesticides. 
 
The Idaho Pesticides and Chemigation Law also 
allows ISDA to obtain a search warrant in situations 
where access is denied. Denial of access includes 
any action that interferes with the normal procedures 
of an ISDA inspector conducting a routine 
inspection or investigation. 

Can I get a copy of the inspection that 
was conducted of my facility? 
Under the Idaho Public Records Law, Idaho Code §§ 
9-337 through 9-350, the public has the right to view 
and obtain case files after a pesticide inspection is  
completed. ISDA policy requires that all requests for  
case files be in writing. The Idaho Public Records 
Law allows the department to charge a fee for the 
costs involved in responding to a public information 
request. These costs may include document 
duplication, labor, and mailing costs.  ISDA will 
either approve, partially approve, or deny the request 
within three business days or notify the applicant that 
an extension (up to 10 business days) is necessary to 
process the request. 

If you have additional questions or would like to 
know more about the inspection process, please 
contact the ISDA office nearest you. 

ISDA’s goal is to complete the inspection, written 
report, and review it within 60 days. The department 
remains committed to providing a professional, 
unbiased, complete, and thorough inspection. 

 



What are the responsibilities of a pesticide 
dealer? 

What  is a pesticide dealer? 

A pesticide dealer is anyone who distributes any 
restricted-use pesticide or general use pesticide.  
Distribute means to offer for sale, hold for sale, 
sell, barter, ship, deliver for shipment, or receive 
and having so received, deliver or offer to deliver, 
pesticides in this state. 

Who is required to  be licensed as a 
pesticide dealer? 

Any person who sells or distributes restricted-use 
pesticides (RUP) in the State of Idaho is required to 
be licensed as a pesticide dealer.  Dealers must be 
certified in the specific category(ies) for the RUP’s 
they sell and/or distribute.  The statewide (SW) 
consultant category covers all RUP’s that may be 
sold or distributed.  Pesticide dealers must also 
maintain a valid professional applicator license. 
 
A pesticide dealer license is valid for two (2) years 
and expires at the end of August on every even 
year.  The cost of a pesticide dealer license is $100.  
A one (1) year license (cost = $50) may be issued 
to a new pesticide dealer in order to get them into 
the two (2) year cycle. 
  
Exemptions: 
• A manufacturer’s representative or wholesale 

distributor who does not have a warehouse in 
Idaho is exempt from obtaining a dealer li-
cense. 

• Federal, state and other government agencies 
are exempt from examination and licensing 
fees. 

• A user of a pesticide may distribute a properly 
labeled pesticide in the manufacturer’s unbro-
ken container to keep it from becoming a 
waste without becoming licensed as a dealer. 

Pesticide dealers are responsible for: 
• Maintaining a current dealer and professional 

applicator license; 
• Being properly certified for the types of pesti-

cides they sell and distribute; 
• Purchasing, selling and distributing pesticides 

that are registered with EPA and ISDA; 
• Selling RUP’s only to private applicators, pro-

fessional applicators, other dealers or to unli-
censed individuals who have the RUP applied 
by a properly certified and licensed applicator; 

• Selling pesticides in the manufacturer’s original 
unbroken container; 

• Selling pesticides that are not misbranded or 
adulterated; 

• Selling chemicals (fertilizer & pesticides) used 
for chemigation to individuals who are properly 
licensed and certified in the chemigation (CH) 
category; 

• Maintaining accurate sales and distribution re-
cords of general-use and restricted-use pesti-
cides; 

• Storing pesticides in a secured storage area; 
• Posting storage areas to keep unauthorized per-

sonnel out and listing the name and phone num-
ber for the person to contact in case of an emer-
gency. 

What are the record keeping requirements 
for pesticide dealers? 

• The certified applicator name, license number 
and expiration date of the license for the person 
using the RUP; 

• For distribution of a RUP to another dealer, the 
name, license number and expiration date of the 
licensed pesticide dealer; 

• The brand name and EPA Reg. No. for each RUP 
distributed; 

• The date of the distribution of each RUP; 
• The quantity and size of each RUP container; 
• The total quantity of each RUP distributed; 
• The pesticide dealer’s name, address and dealer 

license number. 

Pesticide dealers must maintain records for the sale 
and distribution of restricted-use pesticides (RUP) for 
three (3) years, ready to be inspected, duplicated or 
submitted upon request. 
 
Records shall contain the following items: 
 
• Name and address of the person purchasing or re-

ceiving the RUP; 

Does ISDA conduct inspections of 
pesticide dealers? 

ISDA conducts routine inspections of pesticide deal-
ers each year.  These inspections may be announced 
or unannounced inspections at the discretion of the 
investigator.  After the inspection, the investigator 
will conduct an exit interview and explain any dis-
crepancies that may have been found during the in-
spection. 

How do I know if I am in compliance? 

The Idaho State Department of Agriculture (ISDA) 
provides compliance assistance when requested.   
ISDA will conduct a Dealer Certification Audit of 
your facility to determine if there are any improve-
ments needed to bring your operation into compli-
ance with the Idaho Pesticides and Chemigation 
Laws and associated Rules. 

How can I check if someone is licensed? 

Go to the ISDA website http://www.agri.state.id.us/
QueryLic.htm to check the licensing status for an in-
dividual.  You can also obtain a list of licensed indi-
viduals from the ISDA or you can call (208) 332-8600 
during regular business hours (8:00 to 5:00) to check 
an individual’s certification and licensing status. 

 


